Deep Sky Astro

This is the forum for learning from published materials. Please post informations about books/articles/link to useful web pages etc goes here.

Moderators: Prashanth Sampagar, Madhav Jois, Adithya Biloor, Nevil Zaveri, Aniket R Thopate, Adithya U N

Deep Sky Astro

Postby dhruvausster » Mon Mar 23, 2020 3:46 pm

During this rough patch of time for the whole world, I really needed to escape to sanity after self-isolating for 16 days. I drove about an hour from home which is tucked in a remote corner of a coastal town in New Zealand. Visions of the outer space has always been my stressbuster. Enjoying the night sky is simple and can be done in many ways – lying down on a blanket, using a telescope or taking photos of it (my most preferred option). These things are more enjoyable under dark skies, far from light pollution.
Capturing the beauty of the night sky is not really a new thing in this digital era. I have been shooting wide-field astro photos since 2016. From last year I wanted to go deeper than the milkyway – on specific celestial objects. That’s where some skill, slightly better equipment and patience comes into picture. Primary challenge shooting deepsky photos is that the Earth rotates at the speed of approximately 1600KMPH. The celestial objects are dim and shooting longer exposures gives a good amount of detail. When you are shooting on a longer lens with long exposures of more than 10-15s, you will end up getting star trails.